The Henry Jones Art Hotel is pleased to announce Tasmanian artists Katie Barron and Nicole O’Loughlin have won the 2023 Henry Jones Art Prize.

Katie Barron won the Painting prize and $20,000, for her contemporary work titled Flossed Innocence. Nicole O’Loughlin won the inaugural Mixed Media prize and $20,000 for her embroidery piece titled Glen Dhu, where I stand, 2022. Katie and Nicole are exceptionally talented emerging Tasmanian contemporary artists, and very worthy recipients of the 2023 Henry Jones Art Prize.

Max Mueller has also been awarded the Packing Room Prize with his piece Beach House with Hastily Painted Sky and Foreground and Zoe Grey with her artwork There when I’m here has been awarded Highly Commended by our esteemed judges.

Additionally, guests and visitors to the The Henry Jones Art Prize finalists’ exhibit were able to vote for their favourite piece for the People’s Choice Award, and we’re thrilled to announce the 2023 winner is Jane Seychell for her captivating artwork Bees – The Soul of Our Existence.

Congratulations to our winners and all 57 finalists in the 2023 Henry Jones Art Prize.

Thank you to the 139 entrants in this year’s Art Prize, and our esteemed judges Katy Woodroffe, David Keeling, and Megan Dick.

2023 Judges

This year’s panel of judges consists of Australian artist Katy Woodroffe, two-time Glover Prize winner David Keeling, and Curator of the Glover Art Prize Megan Dick.

To learn more about our judges and the past judges over the years, click the button below.

Find Out More


Thank you to all artists who submitted their work to enter The Henry Jones Art Prize the prize this year. Once again, there was an impressive number of entries and a remarkable range of talents across different mediums.

Find out more about the talented artists who have participated in the Henry Jones Art Prize throughout the years.

Find Out More

2022 Winners

Rosie is pictured with her winning work, Once, 1.

“A Hobart-based photographer and artist, Ms Hastie’s fine art inkjet print titled Once, 1, which was informed by Peter Dombrovskis’ iconic Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend, Franklin River beat a strong field of 124 entries, with 62 artists selected as finalists.

Read more about the Henry Jones Art Prize 2022 winners below.

Find Out More